Welcome

Blissymbolics is a semantic graphical language that is currently composed of more than 5000 authorized symbols - Bliss-characters and Bliss-words. It is a generative language that allows its users to create new Bliss-words as needed. It is used by individuals with severe speech and physical impairments around the world, but also by others for language learning and support, or just for the fascination and joy of this unique language representation.

Blissymbolics Communication International is a non-profit, charitable organization that holds the perpetual, worldwide rights for the use and publication of Blissymbols. BCI provides leadership in the development of the system of Blissymbolics. Blissymbolics is offered for all to use under a choice of two generous licensing schemes - either a free, copyleft license, or a proprietary license agreement. See under Licensing for more information.

BCI Annual General Meeting (AGM), April 25 2022

ATTENTION: The BCI Annual General Meeting (AGM) scheduled for March 15th 2022 has been postponed and will now be held on:

April 25th 2022, on Zoom

12:00 EDT, 16:00 GMT, 18:00 CET and 19:00 EET

The Zoom link, agenda and documents will be distributed to all Members of 2022 one week before the meeting.

Motions from Members must be received by the Board no later than three weeks before the AGM thus on April 4th.

Members have the right to vote, To pay the Membership fee for 2022, see information under Membership in the left column. When you become a member for the first time, or renew your membership you will fill in the Membership form.

Celebrating 50 years of Bliss!

On November 24th 2021, we celebrated our 50th Anniversary of Blissymbolics, 1971-2021!

Thank you to everyone who joined us - 119 Zoom connections with many of those shared by multiple people.

We watched our new film “Celebrating 50 Years of Bliss!” and listened to guest speakers from our Bliss community.

Many thanks to Nora Rothschild, Penny Parnes, and Rebecca Chan for facilitating.

We will soon be making the film available to be streamed online - stay tuned! We look forward to sharing it with you!

Additional information